Poem: After "Empire of the Sun"

From “Empire of the Sun”
Emily Richard and Christian Bale in the final scene of the movie
I don’t remember my mother’s face
The path that tears travel
The up and down of her lips
The slope of her nose
I can’t recall how warm she was
When her hands touched mine
When she sang me to sleep
Or walked me along brick walls
I don’t remember my father’s voice
Deep or high pitched
The bark of his laugh
The force he put behind a ball
I can’t recall how his eyes moved
As he entered a room
The weight of his arm on my shoulder
The curve of the back of his head
When somebody claims me as theirs
How will I know?
I may cry on their shoulder
But really,

They are strangers.
Leave a Reply

