Poem: Across the Class

Hey Blondie!
Are you insulted when I call you Blondie?
Back straight, eyes wide,
flaring like a dragon.
When you glance at me, are you throwing knives?
I bet you’re thinking
“Why’s he looking at me?”
You think I undress you in my mind
and you accuse me of mental rape.
And your skin turns pale.
Back straight, eyes wide.
But I don’t undress
‘cause you frighten me.
Back straight, eyes wide,
flaring like a dragon.
I want to use the old lines on you
but I don’t want to get burnt by your rejection.
You look like the sister of someone I know,
but I know your reaction –
Back straight, eyes wide
and confirmation of your accusation.
You frighten me with your eyes.

Simon Lenthen  c 29.8.90
Leave a Reply

